Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 20, 2020

The Honorable Betty McCollum Chairwoman House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment & Related Agencies 2007 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable David Joyce
Ranking Member
House Appropriations Subcommittee on
Interior, Environment & Related Agencies
1016 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman McCollum and Ranking Member Joyce:

We are writing to thank the Subcommittee for its past support of funding for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and respectfully request your support of a funding level of at least \$170 million in the Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) Interior, Environment & Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

As you know, NEH is the main source of federal support for humanities research, teaching, preservation, public programming, and related activities in the U.S., providing competitive grant funding for research and scholarship in history, literature, foreign languages, and other fields that empower individuals in every congressional district with critical perspective and knowledge. Furthermore, NEH funding allocated through state humanities councils strengthens the cultural infrastructure of local communities in every state and territory throughout the nation.

Additionally, investment in the humanities advances vital national interests by fostering a globally competitive workforce, strengthening civic engagement, preserving our cultural heritage, and protecting our national security. As our world becomes increasingly more interconnected, building a solid foundation in the humanities becomes even more critical, which is why the majority of our CIA analysts, State Department officials and staff members and diplomats at embassies across the globe are graduates of the humanities – as are leaders ranging from the late Steve Jobs to former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Martin Dempsey.

NEH has been an excellent steward of its annual federal appropriation, successfully leveraging more than \$4.8 billion in non-federal support (adjusted for inflation) between 1965 and 2014. Following Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria in 2017, the NEH awarded nearly \$2 million to organizations throughout the Gulf South and Puerto Rico. Funding preserved a John Biggers mural housed by the Blue Triangle Multi-Cultural Association in Texas and salvaged water-damaged architectural features at Vizcaya, an estate and museum in Florida. Nationally, summer institutes and seminars for K–12 educators provide teachers with a deeper understanding of history and culture while helping them develop new teaching methods. In the past five years alone, these programs have reached more than 11,000 teachers, ultimately enriching the classroom experience for an estimated 2 million students. Through its *Dialogues on the Experience of*

War programs, the NEH also brings together veterans and civilians to reflect on powerful literature and art to foster healing and discussion.

We understand the many difficult choices your Subcommittee faces in constructing its FY 2021 bill, but we believe that strong federal investments in the humanities are crucial for preserving America's place as a world leader in education and innovation as well as provide our nation's citizenry and workforce with the foundation necessary to tackle the challenges of today's globalized world. As billions of dollars are rightfully invested in research, education, science, and technology, we must continue to prioritize robust federal investment in the humanities. We appreciate your past support of NEH and strongly urge your support for this request.

Sincerely,

DAVID E. PRICE

Co-Chair Congressional Humanities Caucus

Harriel Price

STEVE STIVERS

Co-Chair Congressional Humanities Caucus

National Endowment for the Humanities FY21 Funding List of Signatories

- Rep. Alma S. Adams, Ph.D
- Rep. Colin Allred
- Rep. Cindy Axne
- Rep. Don Bacon
- Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán
- Rep. Joyce Beatty
- Rep. Donald S. Beyer Jr.
- Rep. Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.
- Rep. Earl Blumenauer
- Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester
- Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
- Rep. Brendan F. Boyle
- Rep. Anthony Brindisi
- Rep. Anthony G. Brown
- Rep. Julia Brownley
- Rep. G. K. Butterfield
- Rep. Salud O. Carbajal
- Rep. Tony Cárdenas

- Rep. André Carson
- Rep. Sean Casten
- Rep. Kathy Castor
- Rep. Joaquin Castro
- Rep. Judy Chu
- Rep. David N. Cicilline
- Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II
- Rep. Steve Cohen
- Rep. Gerald E. Connolly
- Rep. Jim Cooper
- Rep. Jim Costa
- Rep. Joe Courtney
- Rep. TJ Cox
- Rep. Angie Craig
- Rep. Jason Crow
- Rep. Sharice L. Davids
- Rep. Rodney Davis
- Rep. Danny K. Davis

- Rep. Susan A. Davis
- Rep. Madeleine Dean
- Rep. Peter A. DeFazio
- Rep. Diana DeGette
- Rep. Suzan DelBene
- Rep. Antonio Delgado
- Rep. Mark DeSaulnier
- Rep. Ted Deutch
- Rep. Debbie Dingell
- Rep. Lloyd Doggett
- Rep. Mike Doyle
- Rep. Eliot L. Engel
- Rep. Veronica Escobar
- Rep. Anna G. Eshoo
- Rep. Adriano Espaillat
- Rep. Dwight Evans
- Rep. Abby Finkenauer
- Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick
- Rep. Lizzie Fletcher
- Rep. Bill Foster
- Rep. Ruben Gallego
- Rep. John Garamendi
- Rep. Sylvia R. Garcia
- Rep. Jesús G. "Chuy" García
- Rep. Jared Golden
- Rep. Vicente Gonzalez
- Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón
- Rep. Josh Gottheimer
- Rep. Deb Haaland
- Rep. Alcee Hastings
- Rep. Jahana Hayes
- Rep. Denny Heck
- Rep. Brian Higgins
- Rep. Jim Himes
- Rep. Steven Horsford
- Rep. Jared Huffman
- Rep. Pramila Jayapal
- Rep. Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.
- Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson
- Rep. John Katko
- Rep. William R. Keating
- Rep. Robin L. Kelly

- Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy, III
- Rep. Ro Khanna
- Rep. Daniel T. Kildee
- Rep. Andy Kim
- Rep. Ron Kind
- Rep. Ann McLane Kuster
- Rep. Conor Lamb
- Rep. James R. Langevin
- Rep. Rick Larsen
- Rep. John B. Larson
- Rep. Alfred Lawson
- Rep. Barbara Lee
- Rep. Susie Lee
- Rep. Mike Levin
- Rep. John Lewis
- Rep. Ted Lieu
- Rep. Dave Loebsack
- Rep. Alan Lowenthal
- Rep. Ben Ray Luján
- Rep. Stephen F. Lynch
- Rep. Tom Malinowski
- Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney
- Rep. Doris Matsui
- Rep. Ben McAdams
- Rep. Lucy McBath
- Rep. A. Donald McEachin
- Rep. James P. McGovern
- Rep. David B. McKinley, P. E.
- Rep. Jerry McNerney
- Rep. Gregory W. Meeks
- Rep. Gwen Moore
- Rep. Joseph D. Morelle
- Rep. Seth Moulton
- Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
- Rep. Stephanie Murphy
- Rep. Jerrold Nadler
- Rep. Richard Neal
- Rep. Joe Neguse
- Rep. Donald Norcross
- Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton
- Rep. Ilhan Omar
- Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.

- Rep. Jimmy Panetta
- Rep. Chris Pappas
- Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr.
- Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr.
- Rep. Ed Perlmutter
- Rep. Scott H. Peters
- Rep. Collin C. Peterson
- Rep. Dean Phillips
- Rep. Chellie Pingree
- Rep. Stacey E. Plaskett
- Rep. Katie Porter
- Rep. Ayanna Pressley
- Rep. Jamie Raskin
- Rep. Kathleen M. Rice
- Rep. Cedric L. Richmond
- Rep. Max Rose
- Rep. Harley Rouda
- Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger
- Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan
- Rep. Linda T. Sánchez
- Rep. John P. Sarbanes
- Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon
- Rep. Jan Schakowsky
- Rep. Adam Schiff
- Rep. Bradley S. Schneider
- Rep. Kim Schrier
- Rep. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott
- Rep. Terri A. Sewell
- Rep. Albio Sires
- Rep. Elissa Slotkin
- Rep. Adam Smith

- Rep. Christopher H. Smith
- Rep. Abigail D. Spanberger
- Rep. Jackie Speier
- Rep. Greg Stanton
- Rep. Pete Stauber
- Rep. Elise M. Stefanik
- Rep. Haley M. Stevens
- Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi
- Rep. Mark Takano
- Rep. Mike Thompson
- Rep. Bennie Thompson
- Rep. Dina Titus
- Rep. Paul D. Tonko
- Rep. Lori Trahan
- Rep. David Trone
- Rep. Fred Upton
- Rep. Jefferson Van Drew
- Rep. Juan Vargas
- Rep. Marc Veasey
- Rep. Filemon Vela
- Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez
- Rep. Maxine Waters
- Rep. Peter Welch
- Rep. Jennifer Wexton
- Rep. Susan Wild
- Rep. Frederica Wilson
- Rep. John Yarmuth
- Rep. Don Young
- Rep. Tulsi Gabbard