NHA Board of Directors


Paula Krebs—NHA President
Executive Director, Modern Language Association of America

Lena Hill—NHA Vice President
Provost, Washington and Lee University

Claire Katz—NHA Treasurer
Department Head, Teaching, Learning and Culture, Texas A&M University

Frederick Lawrence—NHA Secretary
Secretary, The Phi Beta Kappa Society

James Grossman—NHA Immediate Past President
Executive Director, American Historical Association

Stephen Kidd—NHA Executive Director (ex officio)


Peter Berkery
Executive Director, Association of University Presses

Joy Connolly
President, American Council of Learned Societies

Trinidad Gonzalez
History and Mexican American Studies Instructor, South Texas College

John Hall
Ambrose-Hesseltine Professor of U.S. Military History, University of Wisconsin

Leanne Hoteck
Executive Director of Federal Relations, University of Iowa

Gene Jarrett
Dean of the Faculty and William S. Tod Professor of English, Princeton University

Tracy Leavelle
Director, Kingfisher Institute, Creighton University

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas
Executive Director, Latin American Studies Association

Barbara Snyder
President, Association of American Universities

Phoebe Stein
President, Federation of State Humanities Councils

Jessica Turner
Executive Director of the American Folklore Society

Ben Vinson III
President, Howard University

Frances Ward-Johnson
Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, North Carolina A&T State University